Author Topic: Introductions & Q  (Read 5088 times)

Offline ABulick

Introductions & Q
« on: April 24, 2007, 08:56:27 AM »
Hi Guys,
I'm a professional remodeler/carpenter with 35 years self-unemployed,( know what I mean, vern). I sub a lot of the work I do but I do all the carpentry and very minor painting. Primarily I paint, HVLP,my own cabinetry. I won't be doing the painting on this job.

I have a question about an upcoming job that has some lead-paint issues, most of which I'm aware in dealing with. I'm trying to find the best paint removal system for my painter who is very good but hasn't Dealt with stripping lead.

The clients are a young green"save the planet" type pain... Is there a liquid/paste type applied enviro safe product you'd reccommend? This would be used inside, windows and trim, and outside,windows only.

Offline Workaholic

• postingpro
Re: Introductions & Q
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2007, 11:40:26 AM »
There are all sort of legalities to removing lead paint. You need to check with your state to see what the law is. Lead paint is like asbestos, not just anyone can do it.
Sean

the PAINTSMITH

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2007, 12:43:05 PM »
Yep, state, county, township, city, even homeowner associations have their own regs and restrictions concerning the release of lead particulates into the atmosphere/aquafer...Most adhere to Federal and state guidelines, but some localities are even more restrictive...Do some homework first...

As far as enviro-harmonious chems that will be effective, all I can suggest is to talk to your paint store reps and read the Safety Data Sheets that are required of manufacturers...

Offline ABulick

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2007, 01:14:04 PM »
Thanks but trust me I've done more than homework on this issue.  I was hoping to find someone with a little experience in strippers that might encapsulate the paint so I could dispose of it for my painter in a proper way.