Author Topic: 18" roller  (Read 32294 times)

Offline BrushJockey

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
Re: 18" roller
« Reply #30 on: September 23, 2007, 09:11:14 AM »
So- Cleaning up the big boy.  Has anyone else tried cutting the bottom out of one fiver, partially drilling 3 or 4 screws at the the bottom to hold it on top of another fiver, and presto, The 18" spin bucket!   ;D
"It would be ludicrous to think I'm new to this, I know this, this is what I do"  ( Prince and Geo Clinton..)

Offline Bauer

• postingpro
« Reply #31 on: September 23, 2007, 09:39:38 PM »
Here is a little tip if you don't already know. When cleaning out an 18" roller... since they are so time consuming. I first push it backwards though a 5 gallon bucket lid. Just pull out the bunghole tab and they fit right though, removing most of the paint. If you push it part way though then put the lid back on the bucket, you can pull the roller cover out and the paint goes back into the 5 gallon bucket.

Well it works with other length rollers too ;) but for 18's it's great.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2007, 09:42:55 PM by Bauer »

Offline PaintPro

• Serving NC's Triad area.
« Reply #32 on: September 23, 2007, 09:48:24 PM »
Excellent post Bauer. I never thought of that.
I usually just pitch em after the job tho. ???

It might be a big no-no to some of you, but at the end of the day, I just wrap the roller and tray up in a huge plastic bag, push the air out, and wrap it up airtight. 

*Disclaimer* I only use the heavy mil bags that resist pokes and tears and this doesnt work for some top of the line paints. I only do this 2 or 3 days in a row at most, unless its ceiling paint which will stay good for a month!
« Last Edit: September 23, 2007, 10:02:01 PM by PaintPro »

Offline brushandbucket

« Reply #33 on: September 24, 2007, 08:23:22 PM »