Author Topic: What's your Technique & equipment you use??? >> Interior Painting <<  (Read 11034 times)

Offline bionic88

Hi my name is Ronny and I'm New to this Forum and business!
 ???   :-[
I have a few questions, I'm a Newbie Contractor & I would appreciate expert opinion
from different Contractors 

1) is it possible to cut in w/ no tape at all and get perfect results?

(tape is costly and time consuming)

2) is primer really necessary for all colored walls even if their light colors?
(a contractor told me he never uses primer anymore, he says he buys B. Moore's new primer paint).

3) what's your technique for protecting carpet when painting baseboards?

4) what brand/type or size  of brush do you use?

5) do you use/prefer a paint tray or bucket?

6) what roller cover do you use for most surfaces; 3/8th  3/4th? and do u reuse them?
(i throw out all my covers after every job cuz there no good after i wash them, what about lambskin or lambswool?)

7) Finally,  best paint you like to work with?
(the 2 main brands that i know or use is B. Moore and Behr)

Sorry :-[  for all the questions,  what ever you can is helpful!  Thank you in Advance!

« Last Edit: September 18, 2007, 01:23:13 AM by bionic88 »

Offline CarlThePainter

• postingpro
Re: What's your Technique & equipment you use??? >> Interior Painting <<
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2007, 12:16:40 AM »
Of course you can cut in a straight line with a brush and have perfect results, but there are other factors.  Taping so that you don't get paint bleeding under the tape takes practice and you need to do it correctly.  Tape is cheap really in the grand scheme of things....only use the blue tape for painted trim.  You can use yellow tape for stained trim and the 1" stuff can be bought for around $1 per roll.  Remember once you have done your taping, your cutting in goes very fast, much faster than if you were freehanding your cut work, so it all balances out.