Author Topic: Backbrushing ? what up with that?  (Read 19511 times)

Offline BrushJockey

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
Re: Backbrushing ? what up with that?
« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2007, 05:19:15 PM »
I just rolled out an old ceiling that you could see was brushed out in the old days. the brush marks were still reading through.  When I was bein' learnt (in the late 70's) ,my instructor made us brush out a room old style, just to say we've done it. Did you know that spraying has been around longer than rollers? Fackt.

;D
"It would be ludicrous to think I'm new to this, I know this, this is what I do"  ( Prince and Geo Clinton..)

Vin

« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2007, 07:00:15 PM »
Did you know that spraying has been around longer than rollers

Nuh uh No way man  :o

well hell I got this spray rig thats pretty dang old from between the 30's to 50'sso MAYBE so ;)

Offline rmichael

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
  • You gotta love it!
« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2007, 09:50:34 PM »
Norman Breakey 1940 ... and Norman never made much money for his troubles ... Stolen by a Sherwin Williams crony .. Those SOBs...  ;D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paint_rollers

rmichael
« Last Edit: October 23, 2007, 10:01:22 PM by rmichael »
Pro Painter 30 years ~ Down East Coastal NC

"Hell Son, It's always been about the work."

Offline Hotrod

« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2007, 11:21:09 PM »
I wont spray even a steel door without backrolling it.  In my opinion everything needs to be backrolled/brushed.

Jared

« Reply #19 on: October 24, 2007, 09:31:12 AM »
I believe Carl has some great points here.

I too have seen MANY backbrushed doors that would have looked 1000% better if they had just rolled it out with a low-nap roller and left it alone.  Some folks just don't know how to backbrush I suppose.