Author Topic: newbie questions  (Read 7896 times)

part-timer

newbie questions
« on: December 31, 2005, 09:49:07 AM »
I'm a teacher by day and have started to do some interior painting in the evenings and on weekends. I have a ton of questions, but I'll spare you most and just start with these two....

1. What system do you use for clean up on the job? Do you just bring a five gal. bucket  with some water in it, and throw all brushes, rollers, etc. in there, until you get home/shop?

2. I'm not sure how to handle the "who provides the paint" question? The local MAB Paint store will give me a cash-account with a 10% discount to start. But then my question becomes, do I ask the customer to go to MAB and pick it out or do I carry somekind of pamphlet selection?

Any and all help welcomed.

the PAINTSMITH

Re:newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2005, 10:27:36 AM »
...I have a ton of questions, I'll start with these two....

1. What system do you use for clean up on the job? Do you just bring a five gal. bucket  with some water in it, and throw all brushes, rollers, etc. in there, until you get home/shop?

In many cases, especially repaints, that's about all you can do. It makes an impression on the customer that you have a policy of not imposing any more than you must, and have regard for their property and utilities (the water can run a while ;D)...

In new construction, especially before landscaping and such has been completed, it is a little more convenient to clean up at the site, but beware; some of your materials do NOT belong in the ground....

2. I'm not sure how to handle the "who provides the paint" question? The local MAB Paint store will give me a cash-account with a 10% discount to start. But then my question becomes, do I ask the customer to go to MAB and pick it out or do I carry somekind of pamphlet selection?