Author Topic: Advice on Airless sprayer  (Read 18806 times)

Offline STom

Advice on Airless sprayer
« on: April 07, 2008, 12:07:43 PM »
Hello all,

I'm new to this board, and have done quite a bit of research into the topic of airless sprayers.  A bit about myself, my friend and I have been painting for the last 6 months or so with just a brush and roller, and with two very large jobs coming up (at least 1,500 sq feet each), it's time for an airless sprayer.

I understand the Titan 440i is the supreme airless sprayer.  I don't doubt it from everything I've read about it.  However, I need to be a bit more practical as we are not quite at the point where we can afford it.

I've seen some very interesting products at Lowes and at Home Depot.  I understand the Magnum's and Spray Techs are inferior to the Titans.  But can someone with practical experience with the Spray Techs or Magnums tell me how well their products work?  Am I in for a total disappointment, or will they service me well until I can afford the jump to a Titan 440i?  I am considering purchasing the Magnum DX or the Spray Tech 1420.

I'd also appreciate any advice on preparation and cleanup.  I'm a very handy guy who knows his way around a wrench.  Is airless spraying a relatively easy to learn vocation?

Thanks,

Tom

Jared

Re: Advice on Airless sprayer
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2008, 12:29:09 PM »
Tom -

I recommend against the Magnum paint sprayers.  Most models are not user servicable, making maintenance a lot more expensive as one must replace whole components instead of individual parts.