Author Topic: "insulating" paint?  (Read 10023 times)

Offline BrushJockey

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
"insulating" paint?
« on: April 10, 2008, 12:59:09 PM »
I have a client asking about this . Usually a ceramic additive or included in special formulation. Googling it now, but was wondering if anyone had experience/ advice about it.  ?
"It would be ludicrous to think I'm new to this, I know this, this is what I do"  ( Prince and Geo Clinton..)

Offline UUjohn

• postingpro
  • Ancora Imparo
Re: "insulating" paint?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2008, 07:11:37 PM »
insulating paint, eh?    ::)

surrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrre it is..... ://bs
"The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time" (Bertrand Russell)

Offline BrushJockey

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2008, 07:55:31 PM »
UU- pretty much my reaction, but here's a couple of tidbits from the search:

"The technology is based on simple micro-spheres, which create an invisible vacuum effect and thus reflect the heat back into the house, creating a double glazing effect for walls."

"I always get suspicious when a product claims that it was "developed by NASA." But after closer inspection, it does appear that insulating paint additive really was developed by NASA's Ames Research Center. So the product exists and it does work. Exacty how well it works is debatable. Different manufacturers claim different results. Hy-Tech says that since "R" values can only be measured on materials one-inch thick or greater, paint cannot legitimately be compared. They say that in their own tests, comparing their additive with one-inch thick insulation, both hindered heat transfer by 35%. Insulating paint will not replace a good thick layer of R-19 fiberglass between your walls. But if you have no other choice--and if you have a fat wallet, because thermal paint and additives are expensive--you may want to try it."

Just wondered if anybody had actually worked with it.