Author Topic: Custom Painter's...what is your most important tool?  (Read 22142 times)

Offline Frankie

Custom Painter's...what is your most important tool?
« on: May 21, 2008, 02:45:11 PM »
I am new to the board (surprised I have never found this before) but just to get a little insight on some I was wondering what is most important tool for you as a painter?

for me it has got to by my shop vac....my two inch knife and snap off blades would come in a close second...

so how about it, what is the main tool that keeps your work honest.

Offline BrushJockey

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
Re: Custom Painter's...what is your most important tool?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008, 03:47:58 PM »
That tough to bring it down to one. I would agree with all three of yours, and add my swiss army knife, main 3 (12,6 & 3" ) mud knives, so many.
 Most painter tools are simple, but indispensable.

Welcome aboard! 
"It would be ludicrous to think I'm new to this, I know this, this is what I do"  ( Prince and Geo Clinton..)

Offline rmichael

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
  • You gotta love it!
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2008, 05:43:08 PM »
Apart from high quality brushes.... a sharp 5 in 1 .... IMO every painter should have one...  :)
Pro Painter 30 years ~ Down East Coastal NC

"Hell Son, It's always been about the work."

Offline Frankie

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2008, 06:15:33 PM »
the "Purdy Scooter" is my favorite brush. and I love "American Paintbrush Corp"oil based brushes...they are the best!

Offline Marion

• Marion D Watts
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2008, 08:22:23 PM »
I carry a canvas mason bag with my everyday tools and brushes.  It consist of tools ranging from the 5-n-1 to drip-less caulk gun, to 1" to 4" Corona Maui brushes, to 3" to 10" drywall knives, to......  gosh, I'd hate to have to do without any of them......   If I had to absolutely pick the one I reach for the most often, it would be a toss between the 5-n-1 and the 2.5 Maui.
Best,<br />Marion

Offline tallpaul