Author Topic: Painting a good trade ? Thinking to start a biz  (Read 20863 times)

Offline nomadik

Painting a good trade ? Thinking to start a biz
« on: July 07, 2008, 07:10:11 PM »
Hi, I am thinking of becoming a painter, to be self employed.

I have been doing home renovatinos for about 4 years, with a company. I am trying to decide between Painting or
drywall taping.

Is there lots of work to keep a painter busy ? I am up in Victoria BC.

How do you guys like your job ?  How easy is it to start getting your own customers ?

I have been out of work for a couple of weeks now and am almost thinking of just trying to get some
contracts for painting, the market is good where I am, I tried Craigslist and haven't gotten any replys.

Any tips to score a job ? I was thinking of going door to door but not sure I have the guts to become one of those
guys that comes to your door.

Offline Marion

• Marion D Watts
Re: Painting a good trade ? Thinking to start a biz
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 08:34:38 PM »
It's a tough business, especially until you find the niche that works for you and build the clientel to suit.  But, honesty, good work and determination will work in every business, including painting.  Best of luck!
Best,<br />Marion

Offline BrushJockey

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2008, 09:07:35 PM »
Read everything you can on this forum including the cover pages with How to's. A wealth of info here.

Anyone can paint until you go pro. Then they expect you to back it up by knowing what your doing.
   ;D

I wish I had a place like this when I started out. but they were just inventing writing then... 8)
"It would be ludicrous to think I'm new to this, I know this, this is what I do"  ( Prince and Geo Clinton..)

Offline Jake

• postingpro
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2008, 07:20:59 AM »
Do you have any personal experience running a business?

A painting business is like any other in that you are providing a service.