Author Topic: HELP! 3rd coat needed with Pittsburgh Paint.  (Read 7486 times)

Offline Stevie

HELP! 3rd coat needed with Pittsburgh Paint.
« on: July 31, 2013, 08:31:29 AM »
Hi,
I'm new to the forum. I've been painting for 8 years and just went out on my own this spring.
I'm currently painting repainted interior walls. In my experience in this situation I have always used 2 coats of Ben Moore or Sherwin Williams and got great results. However, my client is insisting I use Pittsburgh paint. I tried the usual two coats and the cut line is obvious and the paint seems watery. Client is now saying I should have primed first and then one top coat should cover. Its not. I think she thinks she's saving money getting primer (which I had tinted by the way) but the reality is I'm having to do a third coat. Thank goodness I'm charging her hourly. I'm trying to keep my cool but I'm doing the entire three bedroom two bath and finished basement house. Pittsburgh paint is frustrating and making me look bad! I'm not crazy right? Two coats of quality paint is the way to go? She's going with lighter colors than existing. How do I convince her I'm right? Any advice would be so appreciated.

Many thanks.  S

Offline mymint87

• PF God
Re: HELP! 3rd coat needed with Pittsburgh Paint.
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 10:15:14 AM »
Hi,
I'm new to the forum. I've been painting for 8 years and just went out on my own this spring.