Author Topic: How long should it take to paint a room?  (Read 92057 times)

Offline earthlydream

How long should it take to paint a room?
« on: September 04, 2006, 04:59:02 PM »
How long does it take a pro to paint a 15x15 size room just painting the walls & ceiling? No prep or primer just a good one coat color paint & ceiling white paint?

Also how long does it take to learn cutting in? I am a artist so I have a detailed eye & steady hand but I still am not good at cutting in. Is it the paticular brush you use?

Thanks,
Doreen

Offline brushworks

• postingpro
  • Can I paint latex over oil? Sheeeeesh..YES!
    • Legends Distribution LLC
Re: How long should it take to paint a room?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2006, 06:16:41 PM »
Cutting in for me is the brush and the skill. I never watch the brush, I always look ahead of it. That's after I grip it correctly and load it with the proper amount of paint. A quality brush will make you a better painter because it holds more paint and disperses it evenly and readily once it contacts the surface.

It would probably take me 8 hours to complete a room that size with the cut in and rolling. But I"m a perfectionist, so I'm already in the penalty box from the get go.

get go. I think that's a southern slang for "from the beginning, or start". I heard it today so I'm using it.

Michael
When asked, "what do you do for a living?" I reply, "I market the world's best windows and doors."

Offline Flawless Finish

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2006, 10:10:06 PM »
I just did my parents dining room the other day which is 14X15 with 8 foot ceilings. 3 doors and 1 window. One coat on the ceiling and walls. The walls were painted a different color than the ceiling. Almost everything was moved out when I started. It took me 2 hours and 5 minutes including taking a 10 minute break to make and eat a sandwich ;D. Then 15 minutes for clean up. This was about average for me.