Author Topic: Hobbies Anyone?  (Read 46237 times)

Offline BrushJockey

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
Re: Hobbies Anyone?
« Reply #30 on: December 09, 2006, 01:07:19 PM »
No , I haven't. Is that a game?   I googled Jack Conger and got little. But there was a Paul Conger- 11 1/2 kills.
"It would be ludicrous to think I'm new to this, I know this, this is what I do"  ( Prince and Geo Clinton..)

Offline Lynjowoman

• postingpro
  • PF Mega God
  • Sometimes the best man for the job.. is a Woman.
« Reply #31 on: December 09, 2006, 07:06:57 PM »
Jack was married to my husband's sister (third and last wife ) He just passed a few months ago with Full Military Honors. This is one well documented and circulated story about Jack.

Lynjo

After downing three other Zeros during a dogfight on October 25,1st Lt. Jack E. Conger of VMF-212 went into the drink after he rammed a fourth Zero--since he had no ammunition left. The Japanese pilot also parachuted and insisted the Marine rescue boat pick up Conger first. Conger had to convince the Marines not to shoot the chivalrous enemy pilot and was the first to reach down to pull him aboard. Taking umbrage at the dishonorable prospect of capture, the Japanese pilot, 19-year-old Petty Officer 2nd Class Shiro Ishikawa of the 2nd Kokutai, thrust his 8mm Nambu pistol out of the water into Conger's face and pulled the trigger. The wet ammo misfired and then misfired again when Ishikawa tried to shoot himself. Having had enough, Conger (who would finish with 10 1/2 kills) brained his recent aerial adversary with a five-gallon gas can and hauled him into the boat.
http://www.historynet.com/air_sea/aerial_combat/3028101.html?page=3&c=y

Col. "Smiling" Jack Conger, USMC, filmed bomb runs while flying his Corsair, 1944-1945.
http://www.bentstarproject.org/action.html

http://www.acepilots.com/usmc_aces_list.html
"Whatever women do they must do twice as well as men to be thought half as good. Luckily, this is not difficult."
Charlotte Whitton